Singapore

Luke’s Oyster Bar & Chop House

Having tried the original outlet of Luke’s at Gemmill Lane a year ago, I was delighted to discover they had opened a second branch within the depths of Robinson’s in Heeren. Nestled within the women’s sections on level 3 by the floral dresses, Luke’s do a combination of some of my favourite things in the world; New England seafood and steak, so as you can imagine I find it very hard to not enjoy any visit here.

Starting off with a platter of a dozen oysters, they were not fantastic, but they did the job. I would personally recommend the rip tide. (If you, like me, prefer sweet oysters over salty ones)

DSC02664

 

 

For our mains, my dad and I shared the lobster pot pie and a crab cake each. While the crab cakes are good, they are not as fresh or flavourful as the ones at Morton’s, which indisputably do the best crab cakes in town. The lobster pot pie however, is divine. Feather light pastry on top of whole juicy lobster with truffle butter, tarragon and vegetables. It’s just so damn good, albeit very pricey at S$105.

I would like to add that although not featured here, the Georges Bank scallops are fantastic as well, based on my previous experience from the Gemmill Lane branch.

DSC02666

 

Rachel had a lobster chowder that was decent enough. But I felt the lobster was unnecessary and the tradition clam would’ve been just as good, if not better. As a wise man once told me, “Sometimes, lobster is unnecessary in chowder and clams can be just as good, if not better.”

DSC02669

 

A delicious kale salad with peanuts and mash potatoes with chive

DSC02670

DSC02668

 

I would recommend a good strong cocktail to wash this all down with, one of their fantastic dirty martinis perhaps. The meal was rounded of with a cherrylicious cherry tart topped with almond ice cream, although by this point I was too full and too tipsy to give it justice.

DSC02677

 

Luke’s does very classic dishes very well. I promised myself to try the steak next time, as I hear it’s as good as the seafood. One issue of course is the price, Luke’s is not cheap in the slightest, but for traditional American New England seafood, you’d be hard pressed to find a joint which has more class or polish than Luke’s.

Standard

Leave a comment